SCORCH Send Email Using Variables to ease future changes

In this blog post I am going to show you how to use variables with the send email activity.  This will allow you to centralize your settings and allow for easier migration to a new mail server in the future when you upgrade to Exchange 2013 or Office 365 and if you want to share your runbooks with others.

First start out by creating two Variables

image

I created “mail relay” for my SMTP server FQDN and I store my from addresses as variables also so if I need to edit any of the email address in the future I don’t have to edit all of my runbooks I just have to edit the one single variable.

The connect tab of the send email activity should look like this

image

This entry was posted in Orchestrator, SCO, SCORCH and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

